board of directors

The HSHPS Board of Directors is comprised of Executive Committee members and Members At Large. The Board of Directors is the governing body of HSHPS that approves or rejects all major decisions concerning the organization as a whole. The individuals selected for this committee work closely with HSHPS management to ensure that the vision of HSHPS remains specific and appropriate to the needs of the Hispanic community and its members.

executive committee

Maureen Lichtveld, MD, MPH

Dr. Maureen Lichtveld is currently Professor and Freeport McMoRan Chair of Environmental Policy in the Department of Global Environmental Health Sciences at the Tulane University School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine. She has over 35 years experience in environmental public health. 

Learn more about Dr. Lichtveld.

Norma A. Pérez, MD, DrPH
Vice President

Dr. Norma Pérez is Director of the Hispanic Center of Excellence at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston School of Medicine.  She also has faculty appointments with Internal Medicine, Geriatrics and Preventive Medicine and Community Health. 

Learn more about Dr. Pérez.

Marcia Garcia, MD, MPH

Dr. Maria Garcia is Associate Professor in the Department of Medicine and Family Medicine & Commu

nity Health at the University of Massachusetts 

Medical School. She also serves as Assistant Dean for Student Affairs and Diversity and Associate Program Director for the UMass Internal Medicine Residency.

Eneida Roldan, MD, MPH, MBA

Dr. Eneida Roldan is Associate Dean for International Affairs, Associate Professor within the Department of Pathology and Course Director of Professional Strand at the Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine. Additionally, she is is the Immediate Past Chief Executive Officer and President for the Jackson Health System in Miami.

Learn more about Dr. Roldan.

Valerie Romero-Leggott, MD
Immediate Past President

Dr. Valerie Romero-Leggott is Vice President for Diversity at the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center, Associate Dean of the School of Medicine Office of Diversity and Associate Professor in the Department of Family and Community Medicine. She is also Executive Director of the UNM Combined BA/MD Degree Program designed to promote the recruitment of diverse New Mexico high school seniors interested in practicing medicine in areas of greatest need across New Mexico. 

members at large

Ana Abraido-Lanza, PhD

Dr. Ana Abraido-Lanza is currently Associate Professor in the Department of Sociomedical Sciences at the Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health. Her research focuses on cultural, psychosocial, and socioeconomic processes that affect psychological well-being adjustment to chronic illness, and mortality among Latinos, as well as health disparities between Latinos and non-Latino whites.

Learn more about Dr. Abraido-Lanza.

Darryl Brown, PhD, MPA

Dr. Darryl Brown serves as Director of the Doctor of Public Health Program in Health Policy and Social Justice, and Assistant Professor of Health Management and Policy at the Drexel University School of Public Health. His health care research experience includes work for the New Jersey Department of Health Center for Health Statistics, University of Pennsylvania Medical School and Temple University Health System. 

Learn more about Dr. Brown.

Jorge Girotti, PhD

Dr. Jorge Girotti is Assistant Professor in the Department of Medical Education (DME) at the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Medicine. Additionally, he is Associate Dean and Director of Special Curricular Programs - overseeing Joint Degree programs (MD-MPH, MD-MBA and MD-MS-CTS), the Guaranteed Professional Program Admissions (GPPA) in Medicine, and the Urban Medicine program. 

Learn more about Dr. Girotti

Ricardo Gonzalez-Rothi, MD

Dr. Ricardo Gonzalez-Rothi is Chair of the Department of Clinical Sciences at the Florida State University College of Medicine. Prior to joining FSU in 2011, Dr. Gonzalez-Rothi held a position as a tenured professor of medicine within the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care and also a joint appointment in the Department of Pharmaceutics at the University of Florida's Department of Medicine. 

Learn more about Dr. Gonzalez-Rothi.

© Copyright 2017 HSHPS - All Rights Reserved

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software